The George Eliot School Houses

In June 2018 we introduced our new house system. There are four houses with two tutor groups in each year in each house. The aim of the Houses is to develop a system for rewards, competition, leadership development and community across the school. The house leaderboard is updated each week on the screens and the House boards in Linford.



Pupil Leadership

There are lots of opportunities for pupils to develop leadership skills at the George Eliot School. All form groups will elect a Form Representative who will meet for the Year Council. The Year Council elect Year Representatives who will meet for the School Council. These groups meet to discuss issues and ideas for improvement we can make to make our school a place where everyone can be safe, happy and successful.

In Year 7 pupils can apply for the Buddy Programme. Buddies support the Year 6 pupils during Transition week and then as they move into Year 7. Buddies continue their role into Year 8 where they become Senior Buddies. The role of the Senior Buddy is to support and guide the Year 7 Buddies who are new to the role.

In June each year our Year 10 pupils are invited to apply for a position on the Year 11 Pupil Leadership Team. They complete an application form with references before being invited to interview with the Principal, Vice Principal and their Pastoral Lead. As part of the interview process all candidates are asked to present their ideas for school improvements and how they would implement these ideas over the coming year. This year we had ideas for the careers programme, a recycling scheme and a mentoring programme for the leadership team to help younger pupils.


Head Girl

Louise Warner

Head Boy

Ethan Bagshaw

Deputy Head Girls

Katie Humphreys  and Emily Northall 

Deputy Head Boys

George Ashby and Brendon Boon

House Captains

Kit Boulting-Hodge, Kian Russell, Holly Holt, Megan Higginson, Erykah Bradford-Brown, Chloe Morris, Kayley Mulhall, Ellie Goddard

House Vice Captains

Amy Baynes, Callum Bromley, Hollie Birkin, Dhanraj Saund, Lucy Suffolk, Tavneet Kaur, Alex Bailey-Elliot, Molly Buchan-Smith, Kiya Geary, Hannah Jenkins, Taylor Mae, Shania Harris, Libbi Wilks


Pupil Leadership

© 2019 The George Eliot School